Region History

U.S. IABC Regions Established

The following motions were recorded during a meeting of the International Executive Board (IEB) of the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) on June 25, 2005.

Motion: That the IEB approve the move of IABC Tucson from U.S. District 5 to U.S. District 6.  Jill Sackett, ABC moved and Scott Cytron, ABC seconded. The motion unanimously passed.

The current U.S. District Directors signed merger documents. Following that the following motion was presented to the IEB.
Motion: That the IEB recognizes the three new U.S. Regions resulting from the district mergers.

  • U.S. Heritage Region (formerly U.S. Districts 1, 3 and 7)
  • U.S. Southern Region (formerly U.S. Districts 2 and 5)
  • U.S. Pacific Plains Region (formerly U.S. Districts 4 and 6)

IABC Southern Region Chairs

2007-08: Carol Barreyre, ABC
2008-09: Johna Burke
2009-10: Betsy Pasley
2010-11: Tammie Epps
2011-12: Elena Mappus
2012-13: Cloreth Greene, ABC
2013-14: Dianne Chase
2014-15: Bonnie Caver
2015-16: Julie Ludwig, ABC
2016-17: Chip Bush
2017-18: Mary Hardin Francis
2018-19: Patrick Cobb
2019-20: Mark Evans

IABC Fellows from the Southern Region

2018: Stacy Wilson, ABC
2016: Alice Brink, ABC
2015: John Gerstner, ABC
2014: John Deveney, ABC (Southern Region Communicator of the Year, 2014)
2013: Suzanne Salvo
2012: John Clemons, ABC (Southern Region Hall of Fame Inductee, 2016)
2009: Joe Williams
2007: Sheri Rosen, ABC
1993: Frederic Halperin, ABC
1988: Wilma Mathews, ABC (Southern Region Hall of Fame Inductee, 2014)
1985: Lynda Stewart, ABC
1980: Dorothy J. Hobbs, ABC*
1977: Downs Matthews, ABC*
1971: DeWitt Reddick, ABC*
1970: Walter Beach, ABC*

Do you have information that should be noted on our Region History page?
If so, please email